Wakefield Regional Council

Council Elections

Print Page

In November 2018, Wakefield voters will have the chance to elect the people they want to see represent the community on Council.

The community elects council members every four years and information regarding the 2018 general election can be found below. You can also visit the Local Government Association of SA website or the Electoral Commission of SA website. The Commission is responsible for managing local government election processes.

Unlike State and Federal elections, it is not compulsory to vote in South Australian council elections. However, council elections are the biggest single voluntary civic participation activity in the state with nearly 360,000 people voting in the 2014 council elections.

Another important difference from State and Federal elections is that all voting in council elections is done by post. Enrolled voters receive a voting package through the mail and return their votes in a reply paid envelope.

We will update this page with more information about the 2018 general election over the coming months.


Key dates to keep in mind are:

 Roll close  5pm Fri 10 Aug 2018
 Nominations Open  Tues 4 Sept 2018
 Nominations Close  12 noon Tues 18 Sept 2018
 Mail out of voting materials  Mon 22 - Fri 26 Oct 2018
 Close of voting  5pm Fri 9 Nov 2018



For information on candidates standing for election in Wakefield please visit the LGA candidates page here. If you are a candidate there are many resources avaliable from the Electoral Commission and LGA to help you understand what is required. 

Please advise unauthorised use of the Wakefield Regional Council logo is not permitted. 


Voting in council elections is done by post.

If you are on the state (House of Assembly) electoral roll or have completed a enrolment to join the supplementary roll, you will receive a voting pack in the mail in late October 2018.

Legislative Framework

The rules for local government elections are set out in the Local Government (Elections) Act 1999, an act of the South Australian Parliament. To view the Act go to www.parliament.sa.gov.au.